Delishes

[Contented sigh]  It had been nearly seven years since I’d tasted the kreplach at the 2nd Avenue Deli.  I was nervous, I was excited, I was certain my memory was playing tricks on me.  I hadn’t been to the Deli since it reopened at its new location and I was worried that the dumplings couldn’t possibly be as delicious as I remembered them.   After scanning the menu I saw that they still cost several dollars more than I thought I should be paying.  But, just this once, the cost would be justified.  This was the final judgment.  Either they would be as good as my memory hoped or they would be mediocre and I’d be able to give up the obsession – or not.  Food obsessions die fitfully.  How often do I still daydream about the soups at The Kiev or the knishes at Mrs. Stahl’s?  What’s that gurgling sound Homer Simpson makes whenever he thinks about donuts or beer?

Anywho, the kreplach are still SUBLIME.  My homemade efforts don’t even come close!  2nd Avenue Deli gives you a perfect little pill box hat STUFFED with shredded brisket.  For optimal kreplach pleasure, they should be ordered fried and every bite should contain a generous helping of caramelized onions on top.  These are the only dumplings I know that are not, IN ANY WAY, enhanced by sour cream.  And I have quite a passion for sour cream!  With this lingering aftertaste of perfect dumplings in my mind, there’s really nothing else to say.

Leave a Reply

